Home > Publications > Blog > Le bonheur se situe dans la nature - Pourquoi le lien avec la nature est la clé

Happiness lies in nature - Why reconnecting to nature is key

Highlights

 

  • Connectedness to nature is the extent to which you are aware of your interconnectedness with the natural world
  • Both increased subjective connectedness to nature and exposure to nature have been found to correlate with and likely lead to a number of different indicators of well-being (amongst others stress reduction, positive emotions, life satisfaction, meaning, mental health, mindfulness, vitality, purpose, pro-sociality, and resilience)
  • Spending much of our time indoors and not being aware of any sort of connection to the natural world, we are missing out on much that nature has to offer for us
  • Decreased psychological and physical connection to nature might lie at the heart of our ecological crisis
  • Meaningful nature experiences will change how you see the world
  • There is a broad range of ways in which you can reconnect to nature

What is nature connectedness?

A 1984 analysis of Pennsylvanian hospital patients recovering from the same operation found that patients in rooms with a view of trees spent less time in the hospital, required fewer strong painkillers, received fewer negative evaluative comments from nurses, and had fewer post-surgical complications than patients whose rooms overlooked a brick wall. How is that possible? Could it actually be, that the natural world has properties that nurture us and that increase our well-being?

 

Exactly this seems to be the case and consensus in the scientific community is increasing, supporting that nature connectedness likely provides promising benefits to many aspects of our lives, including our well-being, our mental and physical health, social relationships, and even our spiritual well-being.

 

Subjective nature connectedness is a personality construct that captures one's cognitive, affective, and experiential connection with the natural environment. That means it goes from the simple awareness of being fundamentally interconnected to the natural world (just think of the daily flow of molecules into and out of our bodies, the findings that we host more cells with foreign DNA than with our own, or the importance of microbial health for our overall health, let alone the fact that things like medicine exist) to the affective desire to connect to, to be in, and to care for nature, as well as the intense experience of being present in nature. We thereby understand ourselves as being part of a larger organism, encounter the world as it is, and develop an increased attachment to the natural world.

 

The concept of nature connectedness derives from the biophilia hypothesis which argues that humans possess an innate need to affiliate with the living natural world. Anecdotal support for this hypothesis can be found in the popularity of, for example, outdoor wilderness activities, zoos, gardening, indoor plants, relationship with animals, and fondness for natural scenery. From a biophilia perspective the level of nature connectedness is the degree to which one's innate need to affiliate with the natural world has been supported or suppressed.

 

Why is nature connectedness relevant?

While the biophilia hypothesis remains a hypothesis, research in this field is flourishing and studies have found a broad number of relationships between increased connectedness to nature and well-being.

 

Nature connectedness is a stable personal characteristic that has been associated with, for example, increased levels of psychological well-being (e.g. greater self acceptance, personal growth, and purpose in life) and social well-being (such as feeling socially integrated). In addition, it has been positively associated with mindfulness, perspective taking, and pro-environmental behaviours as well as negatively associated with consumerism.

 

While nature connectedness is considered a stable personality characteristic, it can change based on one's experiences, such as exposure to nature. And indeed, also direct exposure to nature has been found to correlate with a large number of positive effects. Examples include positive emotions, alleviation of cognitive fatigue, improvement of attention or people's ability to reflect on a life problem. Also increased levels of vitality and increased levels of intrinsic aspirations (such as personal growth, intimacy, and community) have been found, while increased nature connectedness has been associated with decreased levels of extrinsic aspirations (e.g. money, image, or fame). This is quite momentous as the achievement of intrinsic goals has been found to be associated to well-being, whereas the achievement of extrinsic aspirations has been found to be related to ill-being. Finally, also associations with generosity and gratitude have been discovered. Even though to a lesser extent, effects such as these have been found even with subtle nature manipulations, such as indoor-plants at the workspace.

 

Longer exposure to nature might even help us connect to nature and ourselves, which if we think about it long enough, makes sense, as they are the same. In the end, we are the earth and the earth is us. And indeed, while the exposure to nature already seems to have far-reaching benefits, it seems that there is an even bigger effect, namely meaningful nature experiences.

 

We might understand this effect better by looking at what happens during the actual encounter with nature. Wildlife tourists in Spain and California, for example, reported that viewing wildlife evoked feelings of awe and wonder and created a temporal experience in which all their concentration was focused on the moment.

 

And also Matthew Zylstra has been adding thought-provoking insights on meaningful nature experience and nature connectedness. In his research (2014)  he found, for example, that meaningful nature experiences are triggered by an unexpected encounter with the ‘non-ordinary‘ in nature:

 

It is characterized by heightened sensory awareness (e.g. the beauty and detail of natural phenomena arrest our attention), intensified emotional (e.g. awe, amazement) and physiological responses (e.g. a ‘rush‘). If an animal is involved, close proximity, extended length of time and reciprocity were key themes. For a MNE [meaningful nature experience] not involving an animal, perceived aliveness, vibrancy and energy pervading the land-/ sea-/ skyscape were primary. Individuals reported feeling interrelatedness and a diminished sense of self. The privilege to commune with an ‘other‘ seems to (re)define a person’s being and belonging in the world. (p. 4)

 

What is important to consider in this regard, is that despite such intriguing effects of contact to nature, humans tend to underestimate the hedonic benefits that being in nature will bring them. And that is unfortunate considering the benefits that await us once we look for the contact to nature.

 

Zylstra found, for example, that respondents have agreed to up to 90% on the positive impact of meaningful nature experiences in drastically shaping their views on nature and life, especially regarding the understanding of interconnectedness/interdependence, career choices, respect for nature and life, as well as new ways of seeing the world.

 

Findings such as these support the assumption that, through emotional bonding with nature, meaningful nature experiences can motivate pro-environmental behaviours and serve as catalysts for personal growth and transformation, especially when complemented with reflection, social (guided) facilitation and ecological literacy.

 

What can we do to increase our own connectedness to nature and become open for real nature encounter?

While there is certainly no one perfect way, there are many promising approaches to integrate these insights. Most of us are trained to understand how things works, but less to how we can actually encounter them. So what can we do? Spend time in nature and be open to what she is telling you. Stay a little bit longer than your mind might want you to. Motivate your friends, colleagues and clients to do the same. Meet, go out into nature together and exchange your experiences. When you have children let them play in nature. The increasing positive results from forest kindergartens, for example, strongly suggest that they will not only be alright but that they will thrive in nature. Furthermore, children have intuition and play in ways that most adults have lost. So you might want to pay attention to how your children connect to the world and see what you can learn from them.

And even though the effects might be smaller, it is already thought-provoking how much we could increase the quality of our lives and work spaces by simply allowing some more vegetation into our (direct) environments. We will explore different ways of doing this shortly.

Taken together, it seems that reconnecting to nature is one of the most promising things we can do to lead both healthy and fulfilling lives and to motivate pro-environmental behaviours. And it could actually be quite momentous, if a lot of our ecological destruction and decreased well-being was due to an exchangeable assumption of the world. We will discover this connection, what happened to it, and what effects it has on our environments in one of our next articles.

For now, you might want to keep in mind, that the next time you feel down, you might just want to give it a go and plant a tree.

 

In the next articles

How did we lose our connection to nature in the first place?

Why could it be a good idea to integrate nature into our work place and how can we do it?

 

For a deeper dive

  • Ecopsychology
  • eyes4earth.org
  • Deep Ecology
  • Pierre Rhabi
  • Schumacher College
  • Charles Eisenstein

 

By Benedikt Schmidt

 

References

Capaldi, C. A., Dopko, R. L., & Zelenski, J. M. (2014). The relationship between nature connectedness and happiness: A meta-analysis. Frontiers in Psychology, 5, 976.

Capaldi, C. A., Passmore, H. A., Nisbet, E. K., Zelenski, J. M., & Dopko, R. L. (2015). Flourishing in nature: A review of the benefits of connecting with nature and its application as a wellbeing intervention. International Journal of Wellbeing, 5.

Kellert, S. R, & Wilson, E. O. (Eds.). (1993). The biophilia hypothesis. Washington, DC: Island Press.

Ulrich, R. S. (1984). View through a window may influence recovery from surgery. Science, 224, 420-421.

Zelenski, J. M., Dopko, R. L., & Capaldi, C. A. (2015). Cooperation is in our nature: Nature exposure may promote cooperative and environmentally sustainable behavior. Journal of Environmental Psychology, 42, 24-31.

Zylstra, M. J. (2014). Exploring meaningful nature experience, connectedness with nature and the revitalization of transformative education for sustainability (Doctoral dissertation, Stellenbosch: Stellenbosch University).

Zylstra, M. J., Knight, A. T., Esler, K. J., & Le Grange, L. L. (2014). Connectedness as a core conservation concern: An interdisciplinary review of theory and a call for practice. Springer Science Reviews, 2, 119-143.

Written by le 19/04/2018
Last updated 19/04/2018
Category : Articles hebdomadaires
Other news

Commentaires

Accueil > Publications > Articles hebdomadaires > Le bonheur se situe dans la nature

Le bonheur se situe dans la nature

Les thèmes centraux

 

  • Le concept de lien avec la nature correspond au degré auquel nous sommes connectés à la nature
  • La recherche scientifique a identifié une corrélation entre le bien-être (entre autre la réduction du stress, les émotions positives, la satisfaction de vie, le sens de sa vie, la santé mentale, la pleine conscience, la vitalité, les objectifs, la sociabilité, la résilience)  et le fait d’être en contact avec la nature.
  • Si nous n’avons pas la conscience de notre connexion au monde naturel, nous perdons beaucoup de ce qu’il a à nous offrir.
  • Une perte de la connexion psychologique et physique avec la nature est probablement au cœur de notre crise écologique
  • Etre davantage au contact de la nature changera votre façon de voir le monde
  • Il y a une multitude de moyens grâce auxquels vous pouvez vous reconnecter à la nature

 

 

Qu'est-ce que le lien avec la nature?

 

Une analyse de 1984 sur des patients dans un hôpital en Pennsylvanie, en convalescence suite à la même opération, a découvert que les patients ayant une chambre avec vue sur des arbres sont restés moins longtemps à l'hôpital, ont eu besoin de moins d’antidouleurs, ont eu moins de complications post-opératoires que les autres patients, dont la chambre avait vue sur un mur de brique. Comment est-ce possible? Est-ce que la nature a des propriétés qui nous nourrissent et augmentent notre bien-être?

Cela semble bien être le cas et le consensus se fait de plus en plus dans la communauté scientifique, quant au fait que le lien avec la nature nous offre des bénéfices dans beaucoup de secteurs de nos vies, dont notre bien-être, notre santé mentale et physique, nos relations sociales et même notre bien-être spirituel.

Le lien avec la nature est un concept de la personnalité qui englobe le lien cognitif, émotionnel et expérientiel d’un individu avec l'environnement naturel. Cela signifie que cela s'étend de la conscience simple d'être fondamentalement interconnecté avec le monde naturel (pensez simplement au flux des molécules à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur de notre corps, au fait que nous abritons plus de cellules ayant un ADN étranger que de cellules ayant nôtre ADN, ou à l'importance de la santé microbienne pour notre santé générale) jusqu’au désir émotionnel d'être connecté avec la nature, d’y passer du temps, de prendre soin de la nature jusqu'à l'expérience intense du moment présent dans la nature. Ce faisant, nous comprenons que nous faisons partie d'un organisme plus grand, nous appréhendons le monde tel qu’il est et nous développons un attachement plus grand au monde naturel.

Le concept de lien avec la nature dérive de l'hypothèse biophilia, développée par le biologiste E. O. Wilson qui suppose que les êtres humains possèdent un besoin inné d'affiliation avec le monde naturel. En témoignent les activités populaires liées à la nature : les zoos, le jardinage, les plantes d’intérieur, les animaux domestiques, les sports en pleine nature et notre attrait pour les beaux paysages. D’après la perspective biophilia, notre degré de connexion à la nature dépend de la manière dont nos besoins innés de relation avec la nature ont été soit soutenus, soit réprimés, au cours de notre enfance.

 

Pourquoi le lien avec la nature est-il important?

 

Bien que l'hypothèse biophilia reste une hypothèse, la recherche dans ce domaine se développe et des études ont trouvé un large nombre de relations entre le lien avec la nature et l’augmentation du bien-être.

Le lien avec la nature est une caractéristique stable de la personnalité qui a été associée, par exemple, à des niveaux supérieurs de bien-être psychologique (par exemple, une plus grande acceptation de soi, croissance personnelle, objectifs de vie) et de bien-être social (entre autre, le fait de se sentir socialement intégré). En outre, il a été positivement associé à la pleine conscience, à l’ouverture d’esprit et aux comportements favorables à l'environnement, ainsi que négativement associé au consumérisme.

Alors que la capacité à être en lien avec la nature est considérée comme une caractéristique stable de la personnalité, elle peut changer en fonction des expériences.

En effet, une exposition directe à la nature a également été associée à un grand nombre d'effets positifs : des émotions positives, l'allégement de la fatigue cognitive, l'amélioration de l'attention ou la capacité des gens à réfléchir sur un problème de vie. Des niveaux accrus de vitalité et des niveaux d'aspirations intrinsèques accrus (comme la croissance personnelle, l'intimité et la communauté) ont été observés, tandis qu'une plus grande connexion à la nature a été associée à une diminution des aspirations extrinsèques (par exemple à l’argent, l’image, la renommée). Ceci est tout à fait capital puisque la réalisation d’objectifs intrinsèques a été associée au bien-être, alors que la réalisation des aspirations extrinsèques a été plutôt liée au mal-être. Enfin, des associations avec la générosité et la gratitude ont également été découvertes. Même si dans une moindre mesure, de tels effets ont été découverts y compris avec la nature domestiquée, tel que de mettre des plantes d'intérieur dans l'espace de travail.

Une exposition prolongée à la nature pourrait même nous aider à nous connecter à elle et à nous-mêmes, ce qui, si nous y réfléchissons bien, a du sens, car les deux sont de même nature. En fin de compte, nous sommes la terre et la terre est nous. Et en effet, alors que l'exposition à la nature semble déjà avoir des avantages considérables, les effets sont encore plus grands que ce que l’on peut imaginer.

Nous pourrions mieux comprendre cet effet en regardant ce qui se passe lorsque nous sommes dans la nature. Des touristes en Espagne et en Californie, par exemple, ont rapporté que l'observation de la faune leur évoquait des sentiments de crainte et d'émerveillement et créait une expérience temporelle lors laquelle toute leur attention était concentrée sur le moment.

Matthew Zylstra a également émis des idées stimulantes sur l'expérience significative avec la nature et le lien avec la nature. Dans sa recherche (2014), il a découvert, par exemple, que des expériences significatives avec la nature sont déclenchées par une rencontre inattendue avec la nature «non ordinaire»:

 

Elle est caractérisée par une conscience sensorielle accrue (par exemple, la beauté et le détail des phénomènes naturels retiennent notre attention), une intensification des réponses émotionnelles (par exemple, émerveillement, étonnement) et physiologiques (par exemple une «ruée»). Si un animal est impliqué, la proximité, la durée prolongée et la réciprocité sont des thèmes clés. Pour une expérience significative avec la nature n'impliquant pas un animal, la vitalité perçue, le dynamisme et l'énergie qui imprègnent le paysage de la terre / la mer / le ciel étaient primordiaux. Les individus ont déclaré avoir ressenti une interdépendance et un oubli de soi. Le privilège de communier avec un «autre» semble (re-)définir l'être et l'appartenance d'une personne dans le monde (p. 4)

 

Ce qui est important à considérer à cet égard, c'est que malgré les effets du contact avec la nature, les humains ont tendance à sous-estimer les avantages hédoniques que peut leur apporter la nature. Et c'est regrettable compte tenu des avantages qui nous attendent une fois que nous sommes à son contact.

Zylstra a constaté, par exemple, que 90% des personnes interrogées ont admis l'impact positif d'expériences significatives avec la nature sur la vie, en particulier en ce qui concerne la compréhension de l'interconnexion et l'interdépendance, les choix de carrière, le respect envers la nature et la vie, ainsi que de nouvelles façons de voir le monde.

Des constatations comme celles-ci appuient la supposition que, par le lien émotionnel avec la nature, des expériences significatives avec la nature peuvent motiver les comportements pro-environnementaux et servir de catalyseurs pour la croissance personnelle et la transformation, en particulier avec la réflexion, la facilitation sociale (guidée) et le savoir écologique.

 

Que pouvons-nous faire pour développer notre lien avec la nature et s'ouvrir à une vraie rencontre avec la nature?

Bien qu'il n'y ait pas un seul moyen parfait, il y a de nombreuses approches prometteuses pour intégrer ces idées. La plupart d'entre nous ont été entrainé pour comprendre comment fonctionnent les choses, mais moins comment entrer en contact avec elle. Alors, que pouvons-nous faire? Passez du temps dans la nature et soyez ouvert à ce qu'elle vous dit. Restez un peu plus longtemps que votre esprit ne le voudrait. Motivez vos amis, collègues et clients à faire de même. Rejoignez-vous, sortez ensemble dans la nature et échangez vos expériences. Si vous avez des enfants, laissez-les jouer dans la nature. Le succès des jardins d'enfants forestiers, par exemple, suggère fortement que non seulement cela augmentera le bien-être des enfants, mais qu'ils prospéreront dans la nature. De plus, les enfants ont une intuition et jouent d'une manière que la plupart des adultes ont perdue. Donc, vous pourriez observer la façon dont vos enfants se connectent au monde et voir ce que vous pouvez apprendre d'eux.

Et bien que les effets soient moins grands, notre réflexion est stimulée quand on pense à combien la qualité de nos vies et environnements de travail pourraient s’améliorer en mettant un peu plus de végétation dans nos environnements. Nous explorerons différentes façons de le faire sous peu.

Enfin, il semble que la reconnexion à la nature est l'une des choses les plus prometteuses que nous puissions faire pour mener une vie saine et épanouissante, et motiver les comportements pro-environnementaux. Et cela serait même capital, puisqu’une grande partie de notre destruction écologique et de notre mal-être est due à une idée préconçue du monde que l’on peut réellement modifier. Nous découvririons cette connexion, ce qui lui est arrivé et les effets qu'elle a sur nos environnements dans l'un de nos prochains articles.

Pour l'instant, vous pourriez garder à l'esprit, que la prochaine fois que vous vous sentirez mal, vous pourriez essayer d'aller planter un arbre.

 

Dans les prochains articles

Comment avons-nous perdu notre lien avec la nature initialement?

Pourquoi serait-il judicieux d'intégrer la nature dans notre lieu de travail et comment pouvons-nous le faire?

 

Pour aller plus loin

eyes4earth.org

Écologie profonde

Éco-Psychologie

Pierre Rhabi

Schumacher College

Charles Eisenstein

 

Par Benedikt Schmidt

 

Références

Capaldi, C. A., Dopko, R. L., & Zelenski, J. M. (2014). The relationship between nature connectedness and happiness: A meta-analysis. Frontiers in Psychology, 5, 976.

Capaldi, C. A., Passmore, H. A., Nisbet, E. K., Zelenski, J. M., & Dopko, R. L. (2015). Flourishing in nature: A review of the benefits of connecting with nature and its application as a wellbeing intervention. International Journal of Wellbeing, 5.

Kellert, S. R, & Wilson, E. O. (Eds.). (1993). The biophilia hypothesis. Washington, DC: Island Press.

Ulrich, R. S. (1984). View through a window may influence recovery from surgery. Science, 224, 420-421.

Zelenski, J. M., Dopko, R. L., & Capaldi, C. A. (2015). Cooperation is in our nature: Nature exposure may promote cooperative and environmentally sustainable behavior. Journal of Environmental Psychology, 42, 24-31.

Zylstra, M. J. (2014). Exploring meaningful nature experience, connectedness with nature and the revitalization of transformative education for sustainability (Doctoral dissertation, Stellenbosch: Stellenbosch University).

Zylstra, M. J., Knight, A. T., Esler, K. J., & Le Grange, L. L. (2014). Connectedness as a core conservation concern: An interdisciplinary review of theory and a call for practice. Springer Science Reviews, 2, 119-143.

Ecrit par le 19/04/2018
Dernière modification le 19/04/2018
Catégorie : Articles hebdomadaires
Autres articles sur :

Commentaires