Home > Publications > Blog > Gratitude - une nouvelle matière à l'école ?

Gratitude - a new school subject ?

Figure 1

 

 

From early childhood, parents train their children to say “thank you” if they receive something from somebody. Gratitude does not only mean saying “thank you” to recognize generosity or service but to life in general. Positive psychologists understand gratitude as an action and a feeling of appreciation for someone or something, acknowledging the goodness in one’s life, which produces lasting positivity towards life (PPP editorial team, 2017). The definitions of gratitude are so numerous that I decided to refer to the Harvard Medical School definition (Harvard Health Publishing, 2011): Gratitude is “a thankful appreciation for what an individual receives, whether tangible or intangible. With gratitude, people acknowledge the goodness in their lives … “

 

Children growing up in Western society forget to be thankful for the essential in life.

 

Our society does not consist of hunters-gatherers anymore. The majority of people live beyond the stage of survival - fulfilling basic physiological needs and having achieved safety and security, as Maslow would word it (see figure 1).  The higher we climb up the pyramid, the more we unlearn to appreciate the essential things in life.  A teenager complaining about the fact that he/she is the only one in his/her peer group who does not have the new I-Phone 8, did he/she forget all the things in his/her life to be thankful for? Like waking up every morning full of energy, having healthy parents, enough to eat, being able to study and living in a peaceful environment…

 

 

Why the ability of being grateful is (at least) as important as acquiring basic maths skills in life?

 

Philosophers and spiritual leaders recognized and embraced the importance of gratitude in life a long time ago whereas psychology researchers are latecomers to this subject. The world’s leading scientist in this context is Dr Robert Emmons from the University of California, Davis. Together with his research team, Emmons studied the complex phenomenon of gratitude and its positive outcomes (Emmons & McCullough, 2003). Cultivating gratitude was scientifically proved to have a variety of measurable benefits on:

 

  • Physical health: immune systems, lower blood pressure, more exercise, better sleep, etc.
  • Psychological well-being: positive emotions, alertness, higher optimism and happiness, lower levels of depression and anxiety, higher life satisfaction, etc.
  • Social benefits: higher generosity and helpfulness, forgiveness, stronger interpersonal relationships, openness, lower neuroticism, etc.

 

 

As far as positive youth development is concerned, in a study with African American adolescents gratitude has been associated to higher levels of protective factors and lower levels of risk factors (Ma, Kibler, & Sly, 2013):

 

  • Protective factors:
    • ​academic interest
    • academic performance
    • extra-cirrucular activities
    • family relationships

  • Risk factors:
    • sexual intimacy (likelihood of engaging in sexual intimacy during secondary school)
    • sexual intercourse (likelihood of engaging in sex during secondary school)
    • drug/alcohol use

 

The researchers used two conceptualizations of gratitude – ‘moral affect’ and ‘life-orientation’ - indicating that ‘moral affect gratitude’ refers to an emotional response to the benevolent behaviour whereas ‘life-orientation gratitude’ is defined more as a tendency of concentrating on and appreciating the positive facets of life, humans and the world. The life-orientation gratitude was discovered to reduce the risk factors and claimed to be a personality trait. ‘Moral affect gratitude’ is related to higher performance and satisfaction, from a psychological point of view more changeable and should therefore be enhanced.

 

When we look at the multiple positive outcomes, whether we take adults or adolescents, gratitude seems to be a key to happiness, in contrast to the putative strives for happiness by accumulation in our materialistic society. When children grow up and go to school, they are taught maths, languages, history, art and later on physics and chemistry, etc., which is essential for their futures. But, are future little “Einsteins” and “Nobel price candidates” protected from unhappiness and strong enough to deal with the dark sides of life? Definitely not! So why should not teachers cultivate gratitude? Of course some people were born happier than others or are more resilient than others by nature. So is it for gratitude but fortunately, we can learn to feel and be grateful for what we have.

 

Children will become lazy and stop dreaming – a myth

 

Somebody might contradict the benefits of gratitude and say: „It’s nice to have kids that are happy and grateful with what they have. But why should they strive for more then? Where will they get the motivation from to fulfil their dreams? Aren’t they going to be passive and lethargic in difficult situations?” Quite the contrary: the positive influence of gratitude on goal attainment has been scientifically proven (Emmons & Mishra, 2011). People recording what they are grateful for, exert more effort towards their goals, and feel more energetic and alert. Gratitude also motivates people to make life better for others or to give something back. Pro-social behaviours have also been more pronounced for grateful children when they were teenagers. 

 

Thanksgiving more than once a year

 

Originally, Thanksgiving arose as a religious observance for the whole community to say “thank you” to God. Of course, a person can feel or be grateful towards a higher power, but gratitude isn’t limited to the religious context. Children should actually celebrate Thanksgiving every morning when they wake up and discover their environment. In this regard, I will never forget my grandfather telling me the story of the first pair of shoes he bought himself. After years of hell in concentration camps followed by sojourns in pulmonary sanatoriums, he was saving every cent to be able to buy a specific pair of shoes, which he had seen in a shop-window. Once he had enough money to get them, he bought them, put them next to his bed and woke up regularly to make sure they were still there. For me this act symbolises how much he was grateful for being alive, to the people that cared for him and helped him to start a “postwar” life and also for being able to afford something else than food. Today, as an 89 year-old man, he is probably the most grateful person I know. With this example, I wanted to illustrate that early gratitude may have a positive lifelong impact. My grandfather learned it unfortunately by enduring one of humanity’s most ordeals but the youth of today could be learning it in peace, at least in most parts of Western Europe. How about implementing 20 minutes gratitude per week in school? I.e. the main teacher could devise different gratitude exercises on set days. A “thank you letter” once in a while or keeping a gratitude journal could be positive for our youngsters’ development and their years to come. Feeling grateful will not only help them to live a fulfilled life but also to find satisfaction in their work and to become resilient grown-ups.

 

Last but not least, I thank you, dear reader.

 

Written by Larissa Kalisch

 

 References:

  • Emmons, R. A., & Mishra, A. (2011). Why gratitude enhances well-being: What we know, what we need to know. Designing positive psychology: Taking stock and moving forward, 248-262.
  • Emmons, R. A., & McCullough, M. E. (2003). Counting blessings versus burdens: An experimental investigation of gratitude and subjective well-being in daily life. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 84(2), 377–389. https://doi.org/10.1037/0022-3514.84.2.377
  • Harvard Health Publishing. (2011, November). In Praise of Gratitude. Retrieved October 31, 2017, from https://www.health.harvard.edu/newsletter_article/in-praise-of-gratitude
  • Ma, M., Kibler, J. L., & Sly, K. (2013). Gratitude is associated with greater levels of protective factors and lower levels of risks in African American adolescents. Journal of Adolescence, 36(5), 983–991. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.adolescence.2013.07.012
  • PPP Editorial Team. (2017, February 28). What is Gratitude and What Is Its Role in Positive Psychology? Retrieved October 29, 2017, from   https://positivepsychologyprogram.com/gratitude-appreciation/

 

 

 

 

Written by le 30/10/2018
Last updated 30/10/2018
Category : Articles hebdomadaires
Other news

Commentaires

Accueil > Publications > Articles hebdomadaires > Gratitude - une nouvelle matière à l'école ?

Gratitude - une nouvelle matière à l'école ?

Dès leur plus jeune âge, les enfants sont formés par leurs parents à dire "merci" s'ils reçoivent quelque chose de quelqu'un. La gratitude ne signifie pas seulement dire "merci" pour reconnaître la générosité ou le service de quelqu’un, mais aussi pour la vie en général. Les psychologues positifs identifient la gratitude comme une action et un sentiment d'appréciation pour quelqu'un ou quelque chose, reconnaissant la bonté dans sa vie, qui produit une positivité durable envers la vie (PPP editorial team, 2017). Les définitions de la gratitude sont si nombreuses que j'ai décidé de me référer à la définition de l ‘Ecole Médecine de Harvard (Harvard Health Publishing, 2011) : La gratitude est une appréciation reconnaissante de ce qu'un individu reçoit, qu'il soit tangible ou intangible.

 

Les enfants grandissant dans le monde occidental oublient d'être reconnaissants pour l'essentiel.

Notre société ne se compose plus de chasseurs-cueilleurs. La majorité des gens vivent au-delà du stade de la survie ; c'est-à-dire qu'ils ne doivent plus lutter pour répondre à leurs besoins physiologiques de base ou de la sécurité, comme l'a dit Maslow.  Plus on grimpe haut dans la pyramide, plus on désapprend à apprécier les choses essentielles de la vie.  Un adolescent qui se plaint du fait qu'il est le seul de son groupe de pairs qui n'a pas le nouveau I-Phone 8, a-t-il oublié toutes les choses de sa vie pour lesquelles il doit être reconnaissant ? Comme se réveiller tous les matins plein d'énergie, avoir des parents en bonne santé, assez à manger, pouvoir étudier et vivre dans un environnement paisible.....

Pourquoi la capacité d'être reconnaissant est (au moins) aussi importante dans la vie que l'acquisition de compétences mathématiques de base ?

 

Les philosophes et les leaders spirituels ont reconnu et compris l'importance de la gratitude dans la vie il y a longtemps, alors que les chercheurs en psychologie sont tardifs dans ce domaine. Dans ce contexte, Dr Robert Emmons, de l'Université de Californie à Davis, est le scientifique le plus éminent au monde. Avec son équipe de recherche, Emmons a étudié le phénomène complexe de la gratitude et ses résultats positifs (Emmons & McCullough, 2003). Il a été scientifiquement prouvé que le fait de cultiver la gratitude présente une variété d'avantages mesurables :

 

  • Santé physique: système immunitaire, tension artérielle, plus d’activités physiques, meilleure qualité de sommeil, etc.
  • Bien-être psychologique: emotions positives, vigilance, optimisme et bonheur, diminution de dépression et d’anxiété, meilleure satisfaction de vie, etc.
  • Avantages sociaux: générosité, serviabilité, pardon, meilleures relations interpersonnelles, ouverture, moins de névrosisme etc.

 

En ce qui concerne le développement positif des jeunes, dans une étude menée auprès d'adolescents afro-américains, la gratitude a été associée à des niveaux plus élevés de facteurs protecteurs et de facteurs de risques (Ma, Kibler, & Sly, 2013) :

  • Facteurs protecteurs:
    • intérêt académique
    • performance académique
    • activities périscolaires
    • relations familiales

 

  • Facteurs de risques:
    • Intimité (probabilité d'avoir des rapports intimes pendant l’école secondaire)
    • Rapports sexuels (probabilité d’avoir des rapports sexuels pendant l’école secondaire)
    • Abus d'alcool / drogues

 

Les chercheurs ont utilisé deux conceptualisations de la gratitude – "affect moral" et "orientation de vie" - indiquant que la gratitude "d'affect moral" fait référence à une réponse émotionnelle au comportement bienveillant, tandis que la gratitude "d'orientation de vie" se définit plutôt comme une tendance à se concentrer et à apprécier les aspects positifs de la vie, des humains et du monde et peut être considérée comme un trait de personnalité. On a découvert qu’elle réduisait les facteurs de risques. La gratitude "d'affect moral" est liée à une plus grande performance et satisfaction. D'un point de vue psychologique celle-ci semble changeante et par conséquent, elle peut être améliorée.

 

Quand nous regardons les multiples résultats positifs, qu'il s'agisse d'adultes ou d'adolescents, la gratitude semble être la clé du bonheur, contrairement aux efforts supposés par accumulation dans notre société matérialiste. Quand les enfants grandissent et vont à l'école, on leur enseigne les mathématiques, les langues, l'histoire, l'art et plus tard la physique et la chimie, ce qui est essentiel pour leur avenir. Mais, les futurs petits "Einstein" et candidats au prix "Nobel" sont-ils protégés du malheur et assez forts pour affronter les côtés obscurs de la vie ? Certainement pas ! Alors pourquoi les enseignants ne devraient-ils pas cultiver la gratitude ? Bien sûr, certaines personnes sont nées plus heureuses que d'autres ou sont plus résistantes que d'autres par nature. Il en est de même pour la gratitude, mais heureusement, nous pouvons apprendre à ressentir et à être reconnaissant pour ce que nous avons.

 

Les enfants deviendront paresseux et cesseront de rêver - un mythe

 

Quelqu'un pourrait contredire les avantages de la gratitude et dire : "C'est bien d'avoir des enfants heureux et reconnaissants de ce qu'ils ont. Mais pourquoi devraient-ils aspirer à en faire plus alors ? Où trouveront-ils la motivation nécessaire pour réaliser leurs rêves ? Ne vont-ils pas être passifs et léthargiques dans des situations difficiles ?" Bien au contraire : l'influence positive de la gratitude sur l'atteinte des objectifs a été scientifiquement prouvée (Emmons & Mishra, 2011). Les gens enregistrent ce dont ils sont reconnaissants, font plus d'efforts pour atteindre leurs objectifs et se sentent plus énergiques et alertes. La gratitude motive aussi les gens à améliorer la vie des autres ou à donner quelque chose en retour. Les comportements prosociaux ont également été plus prononcés chez les enfants reconnaissants lorsqu'ils étaient adolescents. 

 

"Thanksgiving" plus qu’une fois par an

 

A l'origine, "Thanksgiving" était une célébration religieuse qui permettait à toute la communauté de dire "merci" à Dieu. Bien sûr, une personne peut ressentir ou être reconnaissante envers une puissance supérieure, mais la gratitude ne se limite pas au contexte religieux. Les enfants devraient en fait célébrer "Thanksgiving" chaque matin quand ils se réveillent et découvrent leur environnement. À cet égard, je n'oublierai jamais mon grand-père qui m'a raconté l'histoire de la première paire de chaussures qu'il a achetée lui-même. Après des années d'enfer dans des camps de concentration, suivies de séjours dans des sanatoriums pulmonaires, il économisait chaque centime pour pouvoir acheter une paire de chaussures spécifique, qu'il avait vue dans une vitrine de magasin. Une fois qu'il avait économisé assez d'argent de poche, il les a achetés et les a mis près de son lit. Il s'est réveillé régulièrement pour s'assurer qu'ils étaient toujours là. Pour moi, cet acte symbolise à quel point il était reconnaissant d'être en vie, à ceux qui l'ont aidé à commencer une vie "d'après-guerre" et de pouvoir s'offrir autre chose que de la nourriture. Aujourd'hui, à 89 ans, il est probablement la personne la plus reconnaissante que je connaisse. Par cet exemple, j'ai voulu illustrer que la gratitude précoce peut avoir un impact positif tout au long de la vie. Mon grand-père l'a malheureusement appris en endurant l'une des épreuves de l’humanité les plus difficiles, mais les jeunes d'aujourd'hui pourraient l'apprendre en paix, du moins dans la plupart des régions d'Europe occidentale. Que diriez-vous de mettre en œuvre 20 minutes de gratitude par semaine à l'école ? C'est-à-dire que l'enseignant pourrait intégrer différents exercices de gratitude à des jours fixes. Une "lettre de remerciement" de temps en temps ou la tenue d'un journal de remerciement pourrait être positifs pour le développement de nos jeunes et leurs années à venir. Se sentir reconnaissant les aidera non seulement à vivre une vie épanouie, mais aussi à trouver satisfaction dans leur travail et à devenir des adultes résilients.

 

Enfin et surtout, je vous remercie, cher lecteur.

 

Ecrit par Larissa Kalisch

 

 

 Références:

  • Emmons, R. A., & Mishra, A. (2011). Why gratitude enhances well-being: What we know, what we need to know. Designing positive psychology: Taking stock and moving forward, 248-262.
  • Emmons, R. A., & McCullough, M. E. (2003). Counting blessings versus burdens: An experimental investigation of gratitude and subjective well-being in daily life. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 84(2), 377–389. https://doi.org/10.1037/0022-3514.84.2.377
  • Harvard Health Publishing. (2011, November). In Praise of Gratitude. Retrieved October 31, 2017, from https://www.health.harvard.edu/newsletter_article/in-praise-of-gratitude
  • Ma, M., Kibler, J. L., & Sly, K. (2013). Gratitude is associated with greater levels of protective factors and lower levels of risks in African American adolescents. Journal of Adolescence, 36(5), 983–991. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.adolescence.2013.07.012
  • PPP Editorial Team. (2017, February 28). What is Gratitude and What Is Its Role in Positive Psychology? Retrieved October 29, 2017, from    https://positivepsychologyprogram.com/gratitude-appreciation/
Ecrit par le 30/10/2018
Dernière modification le 30/10/2018
Catégorie : Articles hebdomadaires
Autres articles sur :

Commentaires